Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

thenshesource: personal copy
title: Then She Was Gone
author:Lisa Jewell
genre: crime thriller/mystery
published: April 17th 2018
pages: 359
first line: Laurel let herself into her daughter’s flat.
rated: 4 out of 5 stars
starstarstarstar

blurb:
Ellie Mack was the perfect daughter. She was fifteen, the youngest of three. She was beloved by her parents, friends, and teachers. She and her boyfriend made a teenaged golden couple. She was days away from an idyllic post-exams summer vacation, with her whole life ahead of her.

And then she was gone.

Now, her mother Laurel Mack is trying to put her life back together. It’s been ten years since her daughter disappeared, seven years since her marriage ended, and only months since the last clue in Ellie’s case was unearthed. So when she meets an unexpectedly charming man in a café, no one is more surprised than Laurel at how quickly their flirtation develops into something deeper. Before she knows it, she’s meeting Floyd’s daughters—and his youngest, Poppy, takes Laurel’s breath away.

Because looking at Poppy is like looking at Ellie. And now, the unanswered questions she’s tried so hard to put to rest begin to haunt Laurel anew. Where did Ellie go? Did she really run away from home, as the police have long suspected, or was there a more sinister reason for her disappearance? Who is Floyd, really? And why does his daughter remind Laurel so viscerally of her own missing girl?

my thoughts:
Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell is my first read of 2020. I happily kicked off my new reading year with a great crime thriller. This is my first foray into this author’s work and it won’t be my last.

The book centers around Laurel Mack whose daughter Ellie disappeared ten years ago. Since then Laurel’s marriage has ended, her other two children have moved out and she lives in a small apartment alone and works part time. When a few more clues are found concerning the case, Laurel finally tries to move on with her life. She meets a single dad named Floyd. He lives with his daughter Poppy.

Continue reading

Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 1/5/2020: Reading, Watching, Etc.

sunday (249x249)mm
The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog…
Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists….

gifmurray
Good morning and happy Sunday. January came around so quickly. We had a quiet New Years here, we ordered Chinese food for dinner on NYE and watched the ball drop on tv.  I took the Christmas tree down on New Years Day since I was home. I feel that January through the end of March are the longest three months of the year. These are cold and dark winter days but at least they make for good reading and tv binge watching time.

onto my bookish updates….

Continue reading

A Crafter Quilts a Crime (A Handcrafted Mystery #3) by Holly Quinn

crafter

source: free ARC via NetGalley / Crooked Lane Books
title: A Crafter Quilts a Crime: A Handcrafted Mystery
author: Holly Quinn
published: Crooked Lane Books (February 11, 2020)
genre: cozy mystery
first line: Sammy Kane clutched the navy scarf closer to her neck, hoping to rebuff the frigid air threatening to penetrate any air pocket in her winter coat.

blurb:
Perfect for fans of Betty Hechtman and Maggie Sefton, Holly Quinn’s third Handcrafted mystery aspires to wrap you in its warmth.

Community Craft proprietor Sammy Kane must piece together a patchwork of clues when a “live” mannequin ends up stone-cold dead.

Snowcapped pines and glittery dusted sidewalks adorn tranquil Heartsford, Wisconsin, while residents cuddle beneath heirloom quilts in front of cozy wood fires. But come the next day, the below-zero temperatures won’t keep the locals away from Heartsford’s annual Fire & Ice event. To boost customer traffic at Community Craft’s one-night-only sale, Samantha “Sammy” Kane persuades a few of the craftspeople who sell their wares at the store to participate in a live mannequin window display contest.

Local quilter Wanda Wadsworth emerges as a favorite to win the contest, as she manages to not move a muscle for an unusual amount of time. Onlookers outside the window try everything to get her to crack–tapping on the glass and making funny faces–but nothing disrupts Wanda’s stillness. When the eagle-eyed spectators realize Wanda isn’t breathing, a blanket of grief and fear descends upon the wintry town.

Detective Liam Nash can’t seem to piece the clues together. Fortunately, Sammy’s cousin, Heidi, and her sister, Ellie, are on hand to reconvene their detective team, S.H.E. They set out to solve Wanda’s untimely death before the case grows as icy as a sub-zero Wisconsin winter. But they are all too aware that the killer is too close for comfort.

my thoughts:
A Crafter Quilts a Crime is book 3 in author Holly Quinn’s A Handcrafted Mystery series. This was my last read for 2019.

In this installment Sammy Kane sets up a live mannequin display in her shop for the annual Fire & Ice event in her town. The event is a big deal and all the shop owners participate and the townspeople come out to see. Sammy sets up a live window display contest but one of the contestants, a quilter named Wanda Wadsworth, winds up dead in the display after being poisoned. Soon enough police discover Wanda’s husband is missing and this makes him a prime suspect in her murder. Sammy decides to do some investigating along with her sister Ellie and her cousin Heidi.

Continue reading

First Lines 2019

I have a blogging tradition of posting my first lines on New Year’s Day. This is a fun way to kick off the new blogging year while looking back on the past 12 months. I first heard of this meme through my blog friend Suko and it is hosted over @ The Indextrious Reader.

Today I will be spending the day at home relaxing and reading while also watching The Righteous Gemstones which is hilarious, I recommend.

gifwhitechristmas

Happy 2020 and onto my first lines of 2019….

January
Yay to the new year.

February
Good morning and happy February.

March
Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: And Other Lessons from the Crematory by Caitlin Doughty was equal parts interesting and uncomfortable.

April
The Disgraceful Lord Gray (The King’s Elite Book 3) by Virginia Heath was entertaining historical romance with a blend of intrigue, mystery and a dash of humor.

May
I am moving in slow motion on this rainy Sunday morning.

June
Hello all, I am still here and after taking a few weeks off blog-land I figured I’d come back with my thoughts on Doctor Sleep which is the sequel to The Shining.

July
In An Eye for a Lie inspector Lukas Richter is more than your average detective.

August
As the blurb reads, Pono Hawkins is a veteran from the Special Forces who races from a surfing competition in Tahiti to France to hunt down a terrorist he believes was dead.

September
Dark Blossom is a story that is full of secrets and centers on a therapist named Cynthia, her daughter Lily and her newest patient Sam.

October
The Magical Sunglasses is an adorable young children’s book about a teacher who gives her class magical sunglasses so that they can each face their fears.

November
Wasn’t it just summertime?

December
Christmas at Rosie Hopkins’ Sweetshop by Jenny Colgan is a nice read mainly centering on family life during the holidays in a small town.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Those are my first lines for 2019. Do you have any blogging traditions around the New Year? Happy New Year and enjoy your week!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 12/29/2019: Happy New Year and Bookish Best of 2019

sunday (249x249)mm
The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog…
Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists….

Happy Sunday and Happy New Year. Can you believe 2020 will soon be here? I like the sound of it though, twenty-twenty. I hope everyone had a nice Christmas if they celebrate it. Christmas here was nice, I spent two relaxing days at home. I made the peanut butter blossoms I had been wanting to bake. I also baked chocolate chip. If you try the peanut butter blossom recipe, it says bake at 375 degrees for around 8-10 minutes…that’s a big no-no. They bake at 325 for 14 minutes then I let them sit on the baking tray for another 4 minutes before putting them on the cooling rack.

IMG_6638 (600x450) IMG_6650 (600x450)

Book-wise, I’ve been bad with reading and reviewing in December, I just did not have enough time. My last read of 2019 was A Crafter Quilts a Crime: A Handcrafted Mystery so I am going to try and sneak that review in by tomorrow to wrap start fresh for the new year.

Onto more updates….

Continue reading