Kissing: A Field Guide by Violet Blue

kissing
source: free review copy via the publisher
Kissing: A Field Guide by Violet Blue
published: Cleis Press (February 11, 2014)
genre: non-fiction/self-help
pages: 131
rated 5 out of 5 for being sweet, informative and funny
1heartred1heartred1heartred1heartred1heartred

Blurb:
Kissing is an art form. A great kiss can stop traffic, start a five-alarm fire, and feel like Times Square on New Year’s Eve. Get your smooch on with all the different tricks and tips in this handy guide. Bestselling author and columnist Violet Blue helps readers choose — and perfect — their very own unforgettable kissing style. Learn how to time a kiss perfectly, how to deliver (and receive) a first kiss, and how to ask for kisses with body language. Recognize when someone wants to kiss you, when to build tension, and when to take your kiss to the next level. Discover all the secrets and foolproof techniques for the perfect kiss in this indispensable guide to an overlooked sensual art.

My thoughts:
Just in time for Valentine’s Day, this fun little “how to” book put a smile on my face. Like violet Blue states “kissing is an art form” and she is right.

Within these pages you will find detailed kissing tips as well as information on how to identify different types of kissers, like the rock star and the yuppie and different types of kisses, like the good-bye kiss and the lusty kiss. Kissing do’s and don’ts are included as well as what to do when things go wrong during smooches, like biting too hard to finding the person is a bad kisser.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Mailbox Monday 2.09.15

mailboxsqurriel

“Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.”

One of the things I missed about blogland was the fun community memes like Mailbox Monday. I like seeing the new books other bloggers have acquired and it helps keep me in the loop. Although I gave up book blogging for some months, I was still able to obtain some wonderful reads via the publicists and authors as I continued reviewing on Amazon, Barnes and Nobles, Goodreads and LibraryThing.

These are the latest books to arrive ….

IMG_20150204_182523_resized
Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances by the most awesome Neil Gaiman arrived courtesy of Harper Collins Publishers.

Continue reading

Then and Always by Dani Atkins

then
source: free review copy via AmazonVine
title: Then and Always
author: Dani Atkins
pages: 288
genre: fiction/romance/mystery
published: Ballantine Books; First Edition edition (May 20, 2014)
first line: My first life ended at 10:37 p.m. on a rainy December night, on a deserted street beside the old church.
rated: 4 out of 5
heart wrenching
1heartred1heartred1heartred1heartred

Blurb:
For fans of One Day, What Alice Forgot, and the hit film Sliding Doors, comes an absorbing and surprising debut novel about a young woman who, after an accident, gets a second chance at life . . . just not in one she remembers.

Rachel Wiltshire has everything she’s ever wanted: a close group of friends, a handsome boyfriend, and acceptance to the journalism program at her top-choice college. But one fateful evening, tragedy tears her world apart.

Five years later, Rachel returns home for the first time to celebrate her best friend’s wedding. Still coping with her grief, she can’t stop thinking about the bright future she almost had, if only that one night had gone differently. But when a sudden fall lands her in the hospital, Rachel wakes to find that her life has completely changed. Now the people she loves most are not the way she remembers them. Unable to trust her own recollections, Rachel tries to piece together what really happened, and not even she can predict the astonishing truth.

My thoughts:
One evening while out to dinner with friends, Rachel Wiltshire’s life is changed forever. A car crashes into the front windows of the restaurant and Rachel is lucky to be alive but her close friend Jimmy perishes while saving her life. From this day forward Rachel lives with scars both seen and unseen, as she suffers from post traumatic stress. She moves out of town, breaks up with her beau Matt and tries to move on as best as she can. Fast forward to five years when she is called back home for the wedding of one of her close friends.

Continue reading

Joyland (Hard Case Crime) by Stephen King

joyland
source: purchased
title: Joyland
author: Stephen King
genre: crime/mystery/thriller
published: June 2013
pages: 288
rated: 3 out of 5 stars
writewritewrite

Blurb:
Set in a small-town North Carolina amusement park in 1973, Joyland tells the story of the summer in which college student Devin Jones comes to work as a carny and confronts the legacy of a vicious murder, the fate of a dying child, and the ways both will change his life forever.

“I love crime, I love mysteries, and I love ghosts. That combo made Hard Case Crime the perfect venue for this book, which is one of my favorites. I also loved the paperbacks I grew up with as a kid, and for that reason, we’re going to hold off on e-publishing this one for the time being. Joyland will be coming out in paperback, and folks who want to read it will have to buy the actual book.” – Stephen King

My Thoughts:
I read Joyland a few months ago and being that King is one of my favorite authors, I thought this would be the perfect ‘kick-off’ review post for my new blog.

Joyland is hard case crime mainly set in an North Carolina amusement park in the early 1970’s. The protagonist is college student Devin Jones who lives with his father, his mother passed from cancer a few years ago. Devin takes a part-time summer job at Joyland in order to make some extra cash, but ends up staying full-time in order to forget the girl who broke his heart.

Devin learns the amusement part lingo, dresses up as the mascot and finds that he enjoys actually working at Joyland. This is an enchanted world for Devin, one where he feels he fits right into but the amusement park has a dark secret. A woman was murdered in a ride called Horror House and her ghost is said to haunt the ride. The murderer was never found but the woman who was killed can sometimes be seen during the ride at night.
Continue reading