Mailbox Monday 4.13.15

do not remove without my permission (800x800)
Happy Monday all, I hope you are doing well. I took the picture above this past weekend while on a drive upstate and I just love the way the sky looks. We are finally getting some warmer temps here which is really nice after so much snow and cold this winter.

Onto my mailbox….

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

al
Just in time for National Poetry Month, Dawn of the Algorithm by Yann Rousselot arrived courtesy of the publisher via https://www.netgalley.com/.

Dawn of the Algorithm is an illustrated poetry collection that tackles topics ranging from robots and aliens to stock markets and street signs. In examining the dark side of the human experience, the collection reminds readers of the light in the world: the humor, the joy, and the love they can find even in the shadow of the ever-looming robopocalypse. By delicately deconstructing our humanity in the age of the internet, Yann Rousselot offers prophetic words of wisdom to the generations more connected to their iPhones than their emotions.

spin
Spinster: Making a Life of One’s Own by Kate Bolick arrived courtesy of Library Thing

“Whom to marry, and when will it happen—these two questions define every woman’s existence.” So begins Spinster, a revelatory and slyly erudite look at the pleasures and possibilities of remaining single. Using her own experiences as a starting point, journalist and cultural critic Kate Bolick invites us into her carefully considered, passionately lived life, weaving together the past and present to examine why­ she—along with over 100 million American women, whose ranks keep growing—remains unmarried.

w

Within These Walls by Ania Ahlborn arrived courtesy of the publisher via https://www.netgalley.com/.

In her all-new supernatural thriller, bestselling indie horror author Ania Ahlborn asks: How far would you go for success? What would you be capable of if the promise of forever was real?

That’s all for now, thank you for stopping by. What books have arrived in your mailbox lately? Enjoy your week!


disclaimer: The photo above is my own and is not to be removed from this post without my express consent.

17 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 4.13.15

  1. Such a beautiful photo, Naida. Thank you for sharing. Within These Walls sounds interesting! I look forward to reading your thoughts on it and your other new books. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. HI Naida,

    We have middle of summer temperatures here at the moment and no rain in sight, which is bad news for the farmers and gardeners this early on in the year! Your picture pretty much reflects our own skies right now, which is totally amazing!

    Three totally diverse books in your mailbox this week, although I have my eye on ‘Within These Walls’. Ania Ahlborn is definitely a new name for my reading list!

    Enjoy the rest of your week 🙂

    Yvonne.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just love this time of year minus the allergies Yvonne 🙂 Within These Walls has drawn some interest. I can’t wait to read it. Enjoy your week as well!

      Like

  3. Dawn of the Algorithm looks very good. I think that poems on these science and technology themes have so much potential. Technology is has such a powerful impact on our lives. It is a ripe subject for poets.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Brian, I finished that one up last night and I liked it. Hope to post about it soon. Yes, technology is such a part of our lives. My children have not known a world without it really. They have grown up with the internet, when I tell them I did not have a computer or internet when I was little, they look at me like I am crazy.

      Like

chat away

