Crochet and Neruda, two of my favorite things

IMG_3057 (450x356)

I do not love you as if you were salt-rose, or topaz,
or the arrow of carnations the fire shoots off.
I love you as certain dark things are to be loved,
in secret, between the shadow and the soul….

-Pablo Neruda
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Read the poem in its entirety here.

The Essential Neruda is one of those poetry collections that I keep by my bedside and randomly dip in and out of. I adore his work.
The scarf next to my book is my latest crochet project, an infinity scarf. With the Fall weather just around the corner, I get inspired to crochet a few pieces.

Enjoy your week πŸ™‚
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

disclaimer: The photo above is my own and not to be removed from this page.

9 thoughts on “Crochet and Neruda, two of my favorite things

  1. Not a big fan of poetry as I always think of it as something that should be read to you rather than something that you should read. I did however get sent a book of verse a while ago which I quite enjoyed.

    Beautiful words today though, thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been reading some excerpts from Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s love letters to Robert Browning, and they’re giving me a similar feeling as Neruda’s love poetry. These people knew how to write love so well. Thanks for sharing this beautiful poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Naida,

    I have quite a few poetry books by various authors on my shelves, which I often dip in and out of, as the mood takes me. I can’t say that I have a favourite poet, although I do enjoy Neruda’s work when the time is right.

    I love the colour of your infinity scarf, although this doesn’t seem to be a craze which has caught on over here … yet!

    The fad here right now seems to be for smaller versions of the cowl or snood, which is simply warn loosely draped around the neck.

    Enjoy your relaxing sessions, all you need now is a nice cold glass of chardonnay πŸ™‚

    Yvonne.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Yvonne. I know the smaller cowls you are talking about, I just made one for my daughter in black and grey wool. I’ve been crocheting cowls lately.
    A glass of Chardonnay sounds divine πŸ™‚

    Like

chat away

