There’s a certain slant of light

THERE’S a certain slant of light,
On winter afternoons,
That oppresses, like the weight
Of cathedral tunes.

Heavenly hurt it gives us;
We can find no scar,
But internal difference
Where the meanings are….

-Emily Dickinson

Read the poem in full here.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Happy Sunday everyone. I hope you are enjoying your weekend. Winter is in full swing in my neck of the woods. I took the photo above last weekend after the blizzard hit.
Whenever it is done snowing and the roads are clear, I can’t resist taking my Canon out to take a few photos. I used photo editing on this one to give it a softer look.

On a bookish note, I have been reading two books. Freefall into Us by Tess Rosa Ruiz and The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. Both are poetic.

What are you reading?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

disclaimer: Nothing in this post is available for download. The photo above is my own.

14 thoughts on “There’s a certain slant of light

  1. Though we also were hit by the blizzard last week it is again unseasonable warm again here on Long Island. Last weekend no withstanding, it is still Ok to say that we are having a mild winter here. I hope that it lasts.

    I am looking forward to reading your thoughts on the Great Gatsby. In my opinion it deserves the reputation that it has earned.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Brian. It’s warmed up here now as well, in the 50’s.
      The Great Gatsby is interesting, I didn’t know what to expect going in and it’s been nice. I haven’t seen any film versions, but want to watch the latest one at some point.

      Like

  2. Hi Naida,

    Lovely picture, sorry you had to endure the blizzard to get such a great shot!

    I really liked the lines of poetry you shared alongside the photograph, although I do confess that I much prefer the final verse …

    When it comes, the landscape listens,
    Shadows hold their breath;
    When it goes, ’t is like the distance
    On the look of death.

    We have been subjected to some quite severe gales and heavy rain, as an aftermath of your storm, although it is only the far north of the country and Scotland, which have received any snow.

    Temperatures are still very mild for the time of year and spring is already here in some places, where the bulbs are not only leafing, but have opened out in full flower. Let’s just hope that we don’t get any severe frosts from now on!

    Thanks for sharing and enjoy your week 🙂

    Yvonne

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Yvonne. Those last lines are beautiful, I like the part about shadows.
      Temps are now getting mild here as well, and the snow is melting. I love the Spring, the way everything blooms.
      Enjoy your week too! Hope the rain is not too bad.

      Like

    • Hi Lady Disdain, I love finding landscapes to photograph, especially when it’s freshly fallen snow. There something peaceful about it.
      Gatsby is really good and I am glad I picked it up.
      I hope you are enjoying your week too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a lovely photo, Naida. Thank you for sharing. I love the poem too–I love Emily Dickinson’s poetry. The Great Gatsby is the only F. Scott Fitzgerald book I’ve read and the only one of his my husband hasn’t. I keep telling him he needs to.

    I hope you are having a good week!

    Like

  4. Hi Literary. I am a fan of E.D. too. Her work is beautiful, and so ‘her’. She had a certain style to her poetry that I was always drawn to.
    The Great Gatsby is a good one so far, I didn’t know what to expect but I’m happy I picked it up.
    Enjoy your week too!

    Like

chat away

