Mailbox Monday: It’s all about Christmas

img_8396-650x433
“Tenderness and kindness are not signs of weakness and despair, but manifestations of strength and resolution.”-Kahlil Gibran

mm..

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

Happy Monday everyone. I hope you are all doing well. We drove out to Upstate NY last week for some picture-taking, hence the photo above. It was a beautiful day and a great way to de-stress a bit after a crazy week. It was the perfect Fall day.

On a bookish note, I know that Thanksgiving hasn’t even arrived, yet I couldn’t help be in the Christmas spirit already. I just have one book to share this week:

xmas

I received a review copy of All I Want for Christmas: A feel good Christmas romance to warm your heart by Jenny Hale via Bookouture.
They had me at “A feel good Christmas romance to warm your heart”.

All I Want for Christmas is a big, cozy Christmas story about the importance of family, the strength of childhood friendships, and learning to trust your heart.

Christmas comes once a year . . . But true love comes once in a lifetime….

I’m almost finished reading A Week to Be Wicked by Tessa Dare and I think I may jump right in and read All I Want for Christmas next. Does anyone have any Christmasey book recommendations? They don’t have to be romance themed, I could go for a holiday mystery too.

On a non-reading note, but going along with the holiday theme, I have been on a Christmas stocking crochet kick these few weeks. I’ve been crocheting football team stockings using this stocking pattern which is really simple to follow.  My daughter and dad like the NY Giants, so I made two of those.

fullsizerender-16-502x600

Since my hubby and son are die hard NY Jets fans, two of those. I whip up the stockings in team colors, and my daughter makes the bows using fabric we found at the craft store. It really is a team effort. Pun intended.

fullsizerender-17-466x600

As for myself, I decided to remain neutral and worked up one in red, white and green cotton yarn. I will make my mom one next so I may do a NY Yankees one which is her favorite baseball team.

img_9582-520x650

That is all for now. What books have arrived at your doorstep lately?

Enjoy your week and thanks for stopping in xo

++++++++++++++++++++++++++
disclaimer:
Nothing in this post is available for download. The photos are my own and not to be removed from this post.

20 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday: It’s all about Christmas

  1. Hi Naida,

    Like everyone else, I can only comment that the Christmas stockings are amazing and if we lived close by to you, you would definitely have a considerable order of them to fulfil. I did download the pattern and to be honest I think I might be able to attempt this one for myself, however you are the expert, so I’m sure mine wouldn’t be anything like as good as yours 🙂

    I’m not really one for seasonal reading and would read a Christmas book at any time of the year if I was offered it for review. I do have to admit though, that Christmas books do have the greatest of cover art, although some of the titles are not very imaginative … Do you know how many books there are called “All I Want For Christmas”?

    Good Luck if you decide to read this book next week 🙂

    Yvonne

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Yvonne. Thank you for the compliments on my crocheting. The pattern I used is pretty easy once you get the hang of it. Have fun if you do make a stocking, I’m sure it will turn out great. The only part that confused me at first was which way to fold the main body of the stocking before crocheting the toe, but once you get that figured out it’s very easy. I’ve made a few so far.

      lol I’m sure there are plenty of books called “All I Want For Christmas” 🙂 I actually saw the cutest Christmas themed book at the supermarket and I really had to stop myself from buying that paperback. I don’t even know what the book was about except it’s Christmas themed with a little puppy on the cover…lol. I’ll have to look at it again next time I’m at the grocery store and if it’s called “All I Want For Christmas” I will be laughing out loud.
      Happy week and happy reading 🙂

      Like

  2. Loving that quote.

    Though I’ve decided not to join in with any festive reading challenges this year I’m still reading and making a note of what seasonal books people are reading for future reference.

    Gorgeous stockings. I especially love the one with the green bow.

    Liked by 1 person

chat away

