Sunday Post: Christmas in New York, goodbye 2016, etc.

img_1118
sundaypost

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog…

Oh my gosh, I cannot believe that December is flying by so quickly and that Christmas is right around the corner. This is always a busy time of year and I haven’t gotten in as much reading time as I would have liked to, but that’s ok. Once the hustle and bustle of the holidays are over hopefully I can get more time to read.

Lately, I feel like after a busy day I can’t sit and focus on reading. I tend to gravitate towards crocheting instead, I think it’s because my hands are moving. Does that make sense? With crochet, depending on the project, I usually don’t have to focus too much and I can just do it while watching tv.

img_1189

I am almost finished with Take a Chance on Me by Jill Mansell and it is looking like that will be my last read of 2016. It is an entertaining one and cute cover right?

takea

Speaking of books, I was looking back on my book reviews for 2016 and I thought I would share my favorite reads of the past year. 

complete
The Complete Poems: Anne Sexton
“And we are magic talking to itself,
noisy and alone. I am queen of all my sins
forgotten. Am I still lost?
Once I was beautiful. Now I am myself,
counting this row and that row of moccasins
waiting on the silent shelf.”

carrie2
Carrie by Stephen King
“She knew with suddenness and ease that this moment would be with her always, within hand’s reach of memory.”

gatsby
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
“He knew that when he kissed this girl, and forever wed his unutterable visions to her perishable breath, his mind would never romp again like the mind of God. So he waited, listening for a moment longer to the tuning fork that had been struck upon a star. Then he kissed her.”

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

On a non-bookish note, we went into New York a few weekends ago and enjoyed the sights during the holiday. I’ll close with a few pics.
img_1068
This is near Rockefeller Center and across from Radio City Music Hall, which is the first picture in this post up above. I love NY during Christmas, it is just so festive.

We also took a drive out to a neighborhood in Brooklyn that is known for the way the houses are decorated during the holidays. It is somewhat of a tourist spot. I cannot imagine living there and as beautiful as the houses are I wouldn’t enjoy crowds that gather. There is even a shuttle bus that drops people off to see the decorated homes.

fullsizerender-24

I took these pictures on my iPhone as I was just way too cold to bother with my good camera, but my photos don’t do this neighborhood  justice. It really needs to be seen to be believed.

img_1134
This picture is of one of the more popular homes, you can see the crowd of people gathered right in front. Santa Claus was also there to take pictures with. I have never seen such huge nutcrackers in my entire life. I had so many questions like when do the decorations go up? It is obvious the professionals have been called in for much of this. Do the neighbors get along with one another? Whose idea was all this to begin with?

img_1017

Again, my pictures don’t do these decorations justice plus despite being bundled up beyond recognition, my hands would go numb the minute I  would take off a glove to take a picture so I wasn’t able to get great shots. One of my favorite houses had a gorgeous statue of a large gold bull (not shown here) but they also had two large glass domes and inside each was a tree bearing real fruit. The cold weather is in full swing here so there has to be a heating system inside these. If you look at this picture you can see the tree, plus the fake reindeer grazing on the fruit. I just loved this. The house itself was beautifully lit up with lights that shone like lasers.

That is all for now. I hope you are reading good books and enjoying the holidays. I probably will not be around too much for the rest of December but I will be back in January. Happy, Healthy New Year! Thank you for stopping by my blog and taking the time to comment. Thank you for your friendship and bookish recommendations. I wish you all good things for 2017. xo

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++


disclaimer:
Nothing in this post is available for download. The photos are my own and not to be removed from this post.

17 thoughts on “Sunday Post: Christmas in New York, goodbye 2016, etc.

  1. It doesn’t seem possible that the year is almost over. Your photos are so beautiful, Naida. I didn’t do a Christmas post. I think I’m still in denial it’s next week. LOL Take a Chance On Me sounds like a great book to finish the year out on. I hope you enjoy it! I enjoyed seeing some of your favorites of the year. I want to read Carrie someday. I’ve seen the movie versions. I bet the story is even better in written form.

    I hope you have a wonderful Christmas, Naida! Thank you for helping make this year so much brighter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also have much too little time to read. My issue is that after long days I am often too tired to read for more then a few minutes.

    I need to do a little life reorganization in order to find more time to read.

    Happy holidays to you and your family Naida!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Naida,

    I can’t believe that Christmas is just one week away, although this year has been so bad, that I can’t wait for it all to be over and for us to be hoping that 2017 is going to turn out much better!

    Working in the retail space, I guess you can imagine how busy we have been, although this last week is probably going to be more food oriented and we are preparing for a slow down in workload. This will hopefully mean that I am not quite so exhausted in the evening and will be able to focus on putting a plan together for increasing my reading and blogging next year!

    I love the random mix wool in the Christmas colours. We sell wool in our shop and I’m sure this would have been an excellent seller. As it is, we have sold more wool this Christmas than at any time in the past 5 years and I have had some lovely customers purchase, who are happy to stand and chat about all things knitting 🙂

    The pictures from New York look great, very similar to some of the housing areas in Florida at Christmas. When we used to take various relatives across with us, we would always set aside one evening to cruise the streets looking at all the lovely displays, the children used to love it. Decorating the outside of the house is now, needless to say, catching on here in the UK and there are constant competitions between neighbours.

    Thanks for being such a great blogging friend ths year, your support and encouragement is always appreciated. Have a fantastic Christmas holiday and a Very Happy New Year 🙂

    Yvonne

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry for my late reply Yvonne. Thank you as well for being a wonderful blogging friend and for always taking the time to leave you thoughtful comments. I do appreciate it too! Here’s to a happy, healthy 2017 full of good books. 🙂

      Like

  4. Crap, WordPress just ate one of my comments 😦

    To sum it up – Dyker Heights in Brooklyn I’d like to see it sometime and I love your photos, check out Adrienne Rich’s poetry (especially poems like “The Trees” and “For the Dead”) and have a happy holiday and New Year 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful pictures and you are right, although beautiful, I can’t imagine living there with all the tourists going by during the season. Love seeing your favorite reads too. I have not read much by Anne Sexton so I think i need to add her to my list for next year. Hope you and your family have a wonderful holiday season!

    Liked by 1 person

chat away

