Pablo Neruda: If You Forget Me

IMG_8315 (640x511)

Pablo Neruda breaks my heart in the best way. I can’t pick a favorite, but If You Forget Me is up there. His work is best read in Spanish as he wrote it, there is something that gets lost in translation but the work is still beautiful nonetheless in English. He evokes emotion with his words and I dip into my little Neruda collection from time to time just to savor it.

everything carries me to you,
as if everything that exists,
aromas, light, metals,
were little boats
that sail
toward those isles of yours that wait for me.
-read the poem in its entirety here

What do you think of this one?

April is National Poetry Month, follow this link for more.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

disclaimer:
The photo above is my own and is not to be removed from this post.

10 thoughts on “Pablo Neruda: If You Forget Me

  1. Pretty picture to go with such a lovely poem! I have several Neruda collections and am so glad they have the Spanish version on one side and the English on the other. It’s interesting to read them in both languages but you are right, I prefer to read his in Spanish. Thank you for sharing these!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How lovely. I’m not a big fan of poetry as you know but certain poems just speak to you.

    So glad to be back and visiting with you all. Many thanks for your kind comments during my recent stay in hospital.

    Liked by 1 person

chat away

