Sunday Post 5/28/17 Still dreaming of Van Gogh in NYC etc.

sundaypost

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog…

IMG_8554 (500x333)
Happy Sunday. It is a nice three day weekend as we celebrate Memorial Day here in the US. That picture above is of my all time favorite paintings, by Vincent van Gogh, “The Starry Night“. I went into NYC yesterday to see it at the MOMA. I went in specifically to see Van Gogh and I definitely enjoyed my trip to the museum. It was my first time going to this one because whenever I go into the city for a museum trip, I always go to the Met, that is my absolute favorite. There was a little crowd gathered around The Starry Night but my son and I managed to take a selfie with it anyway…lol. I will be printing that one out and hanging it in my cubicle at work. 🙂

While at the MOMA I also found Frida
IMG_8372 (375x500)

Plenty of Picasso
IMG_8349 (480x640)

IMG_8387 (375x500)
…and Andy Warhol among several others. It was a really great trip with alot to see. Art can be so inspiring and good for the soul. That Van Gogh though…ugh. I could stare at it all day. I want to go back already to see more.

On a reading note, I finished up Crescendo by Amy Weiss last night which was so good. A new favorite. The topic of past lives and reincarnation fascinates me and this book was an unexpected gem. My review will be up soon.
cres

I’m not sure what to read next, even though my TBR pile is huge. I have these at the top waiting to be read next, which would you read first?

allholdnook2
All the Rivers by Dorit Rabinyan, Hold Back The Stars by Katie Khan or Secrets of the Dead by Carol Wyer? I’m leaning more towards Secrets of the Dead.

I have no crochet to show this week, I haven’t really been hooking since finishing my sister in laws blanket I took a little break.

I’ll close with a TED talk I found on Van Gogh’s “The Starry Night” that I thought was interesting. Enjoy your weekend. What are you reading/doing?

+++++++++++++++++++++

disclaimer: The photos in this post are my own and not to be removed from here.

30 thoughts on “Sunday Post 5/28/17 Still dreaming of Van Gogh in NYC etc.

  1. I love art! I can visualize Sundays in Central Park and at the MOMA…and then taking walks through the streets of neighborhoods I would love to see in person. As for Andy Warhol, I recently re-watched a movie called Factory Girl that featured some of the events and people he gathered around him.

    Enjoy!

    Crescendo looks good! Thanks for sharing, and for visiting my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a wonderful trip. I love Starry Night too (it’s actually the design on my iPad cover, lol) but haven’t actually seen it in person yet. I’ll have to include MOMA on my next trip to NYC. Hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been to MOMA in NYC and love it. You can never see everything in one day, though. All the books in your TBR look good. I’m sure you can’t go wrong with any of them. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. MoMA is one of my favorite museums! Thanks for sharing your fabulous photos (I am still pretty amazed that you can take pics inside the museum–no flash though). My TBR pile is huge, too. Enjoy the rest of this long weekend, Naida! Rest, relax, and rejuvenate. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Susan, I really enjoyed my visit. Yes, it’s the same at the Met museum, they allow you to take pictures. However the one time I went to see the exhibit featuring Marie Antoinette’s paintings flown in from Paris, they didn’t allow photos with cell phones or cameras at all in that section.
      Enjoy the long weekend too!

      Like

  5. Hi Naida,

    It is a long weekend here in the UK too, to celebrate the May Bank Holiday, with the children having the week off for half-term!

    I have to be in the mood to visit a museum, but when I am, I generally have a good time, particularly if it is a museum of art. I don’t have a particular favourite artist, but once again, mood plays a big part when I am viewing the various exhibitions.

    Personally, I would read ‘Secrets Of The Dead’ first, but that is just my liking for suspense thrillers kicking in. I hope that you enjoy whichever one of them it turns out to be 🙂

    Yvonne

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Yvonne, enjoy the long weekend too!
      I really enjoy the art museums and it is always nice seeing paintings by my favorite artists or discovering new favorites.
      I think I will read Secrets Of The Dead next. I could go for a good thriller. Thanks for stopping by as always and for sharing my post 🙂

      Like

  6. What a fun trip! I would love to visit the museums in New York City. I would like to visit New York City itself someday, for that matter. Crescendo sounds like a good one. I’m fascinated by reincarnation too. I wish you luck in choosing your next read. I would go with the one you are leaning towards most. 🙂 Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

chat away

