Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 5/20/18: Re-Reading King again, crochet and a few other things

sunday (249x249)mm

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog…

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists….

Happy Sunday everyone. I hope you are all enjoying your weekend. It has been a rainy week here. It rained most of yesterday when I watched the Royal Wedding on the BBC channel. Those two are so sweet together, I loved her dress and seeing all the hats the ladies wear.

We also had a pretty heavy rain storm mid-week that looked like something out of a movie. The sky got dark, thunder and lightning started to crack, it became very windy and started pouring rain on my commute home from work. I thought I’d see the wicked witch fly by on her bicycle soon. It is raining today again as I type my post up.

giftwicked

Speaking of movie baddies, we finally watched Maleficent recently and it was soooo good. I don’t know what took us so long to watch it. Have you seen it?
mal

In My Mailbox:

I have a few new books. An author I’ve known online for several years through book blogging, Denise K. Rago sent me a copy of her latest novel, Eternal Hunger. I’ve read and enjoyed both her previous books, Immortal Obsession and Blood Tears , so I am looking forward to diving into this one.
eter (268x400)

Meltdown by G.P. James arrived via Meryl Moss Media which I am very excited about reading. It sounds intense and I like the setting and premise. I’ve been to Bear Mountain many times.
perf5.000x8.000.indd

“A timely thriller illuminating facts regarding the state of the world’s energy crisis, climate change, and the quandary of nuclear energy – inspired by events in Fukushima, unexpected earthquakes across the planet, and the deterioration of nuclear power plants worldwide.

Bear Mountain Nuclear Energy Center sits one mile outside the active Ramapo fault line, thirty-five miles from the center of New York City. The fault line rocks causing a massive earthquake in the town of Peekskill; power is clipped and control of one of the reactors at Bear Mountain is abruptly lost….”

left
I received an ARC of Left: A Love Story by Mary Hogan which sounds very good via LibraryThing.

“In this beautifully crafted novel from the author of the critically-acclaimed Two Sisters, comes the story of a woman who retreats into a fantasy world on New York City’s Upper West Side as she slowly loses her once whip-smart husband to dementia—perfect for fans of Still Alice.”


Recently on the Blog:

I posted my thoughts on Earl Interrupted (The Daring Marriages #2) by Amanda Forester and on The Pisces by Melissa Broder these past few weeks. The Pisces was a favorite.

earlpisces

Reading updates:

Remember I was trying to read Mr. Mercedes: A Novel (The Bill Hodges Trilogy) again after I tried reading it last summer? Well, I officially give up. It is not meant to be.
mr
And I was frustrated because I made it up to like page 80 or so before calling it quits this second time around. And this from my favorite author. A DNF from my favorite? Has this ever happened to you?

I just don’t know. I couldn’t get into the story-line at all. I wasn’t curious about the plot and I found myself reading pages where I’d have to go back and re-read them because I zoned out. King is master at characterization and I could not care less about the characters inside this novel. So I don’t know what the heck happened with this one. Did he really write this book?
gifconfused

This almost threw me into a book slump, which tends to happen to me when I have to DNF a book. I refused to get into a dreaded book slump, so I grabbed my copy of Needful Things which I have been happily immersed in this past week. Needful Things is the first King novel I read and my copy is old….I’d say around 20 years old because I bought it when my son was just a toddler. I have a Stephen King collection on my shelves and several of them are very old. Speaking of King, he’s posted a free short story on his site. I haven’t read it yet but will.
IMG_9594 (413x550)

“There are two prices for this. Half…and half. One half is cash. The other is a deed. Do you understand?”

The town of Castle Rock, Maine has seen its fair share of oddities over the years, but nothing is a peculiar as the little curio shop that’s just opened for business. Its mysterious proprietor, Leland Gaunt, seems to have something for everyone out on display at Needful Things…interesting items that run the gamut from worthless to priceless. Nothing has a price tag in this place, but everything is certainly for sale… “

And lastly, I am almost finished with my aunt’s blanket.  It’s been a nice project to work on and I’ve been getting in a few rows here and there. I will post a finished picture soon I hope. I love the pink. I will have multicolored pink yarn left over once I am finished so I’m thinking of whipping up a set of pot-holders for her as well with that.
IMG_9602 (459x550)

That covers my updates for now, what have you been up to? Enjoy your week and happy reading.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
disclaimer: Nothing in this post is available for download, the photos are my own.
Some of the links in the post are affiliate links. If you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive a small affiliate commission.

32 thoughts on “Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 5/20/18: Re-Reading King again, crochet and a few other things

  1. It has rained here all week too and I’m so over it. Thankfully the sun is shining this morning so hopefully it will stay that way. Sorry to hear that Mr. Mercedes wasn’t for you. That one is on my TBR too so I’m curious to see if I have the same struggles with it. I hope you have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We have enjoyed a beautiful week of sunshine and Hot! Hot! temperatures, which looks set to continue for most of this week as well and into next weekend, which is an extended holiday weekend for the May Spring Bank Holiday Monday, leading into half term holday week for the children.

    I love you aunt’s blanket and I wonder if she follows your posts on-line, so that she can see how it is coming along, for herself?

    I’m not really sure that any of your books are for me. The Mary Hogan book sounded okay, but as it deals with dementia and my father-in-law recently died from this dreadful disease, it may be a bit too soon…

    I hope that you haven’t fallen out of love with Stephen King forever, and that you are enjoying ‘Needful Things’ for the second time around.

    Have a good week 🙂

    Yvonne xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Yvonne, enjoy those temps and the long weekend as well!

      I am keeping my Aunt’s blanket a surprise for her, she has Facebook but I haven’t post these pics on there yet. I’m just about done with it and hope to mail it off within another week or so. All she said was she wanted something for her bedroom, so she doesn’t know what I am making.

      I know, some books hit too close to home. I can relate to that as well. Seeing a loved one suffer dementia is heart breaking. ((hugs))

      Yes, Needful Things is great so far and I am easily breezing through it since it is very entertaining. I feel like I am visiting Castle Rock again.

      Enjoy your weekend and thanks for stopping in 🙂

      Like

  3. Happy Sunday, Naida! The storm you mention sounds intense. I wish we’d get some rain here–send some my way, will ya?

    I think you needed to reread Needful Things.

    The blanket looks gorgeous. The colors and design are fabulous!

    I saw only snippets of the royal wedding. It was certainly spectacular.

    Happy reading in the week ahead, Naida!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Susan, happy weekend. Yes, that rainstorm was heavy, but it’s good to have the rain. Please take some, we have rain again today. 🙂

      I did need to re-read Needful Things, it’s very good.

      Enjoy your week and happy reading and hugs to Daisy.

      Like

  4. Happy Sunday! It is interesting that you went you back to Needful Things. I love going back to books that I read when I was younger.

    Meltdown sounds good. With that, I think that nuclear energy is not being evaluated fairly often in terms of risks verses benefits.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Brian. I love going back and re-reading favorites as well, it’s comforting because you know they will be good.
      You are right about nuclear energy, with the risks and benefits. It’s an interesting and hot topic.

      Enjoy your reading and the weekend as well 🙂

      Like

  5. It’s been rainy and stormy here all week too. Hope it calms down for a while. Sounds like you guys had a rough one! And the royal wedding was pretty awesome- so glad they got blue sky and nice weather for it!

    Meltdown looks awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautiful blanket! I read Mr. Mercedes for book group a couple of years ago and it wasn’t my favorite King either. But yes, I’ve had some DNFs by favorite authors and it is such a WTF moment isn’t it? Hope your next King will not disappoint!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yes, both myself, Mr T and the ma-in-law loved Maleficent.

    The last Steven King book I read, despite loving Needful Things I decided to call it a day as far as reading his novels went. That said, I was recently passed on one of his books which I’m quite tempted by.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. That blanket looks amazing, I love the colours!

    It’s always a bummer when an author you love releases a book you just…don’t get. I’ve had that happen with a couple of favourite authors, it’s a bit weird but we all have different tastes.

    I hope you had a wonderful week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

chat away

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.