Sister of Mine by Laurie Petrou

sister

source: review copy courtesy of Meryl Moss Media
title: Sister of Mine
author: Laurie Petrou/ Twitter
pages: 294
genre: psychological thriller
first line: She breaks into a run as soon as she clears the flames.
rated: 4 out of 5
1blustar1blustar1blustar1blustar

blurb:
For fans of Sarah Pinborough and Liane Moriarty comes a taut domestic suspense about the lies we tell to hold our lives together.

Sisters, like secrets, are best kept close.

Penny and Hattie, orphaned sisters in a small town, are best friends, bound together to the point of knots. But Penny, at the mercy of her brutal husband, is desperate for a fresh start. Willing to do anything for her older sister, Hattie agrees to help. A match is struck and a fire burns Penny’s marriage to the ground. With her husband gone, Penny is free, and the sisters, it seems, get away with murder. But freedom comes at a cost.

More than a year after the fire, a charming young man comes to town. Hattie and Penny quickly bring him into the fold and into their hearts but their love for him threatens the delicate balance. Soon long-held resentments, sibling rivalry, and debts unpaid boil over, and the bonds of sisterhood begin to snap. As one little lie grows into the next, the sisters’ secrets will unravel, eroding their lives until only a single, horrible truth remains: You owe me.

A compelling novel of suspense from a talented new voice, Sister of Mine asks us to consider the bonds of family, what it takes to commit the unthinkable, and how far you’ll go to protect the ones you love.

my thoughts:

Sister of Mine is a multi layered novel about two sisters, Penny and Hattie, who are tied together by a dark secret. This secret rips them apart as the years go by because of resentments, lies, cover-ups and bad memories.

As the story opens, their mother who raised them died in an accident at home while Penny was away at college. Giving up her dreams of finishing school, Penelope comes back home after the death of her mother to take care of her younger sister Hattie. She gets a steady job and marries a local man who turns out to be an abuser. Terrified of her husband and what he is capable of Penny sees only one way to escape him. When her husband is found dead in a house fire, the two sisters just want to get on with their lives and leave his memory behind.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Christmas at Conwenna Cove by Darcie Boleyn

conwenna
source: free review copy via Net Galley
title: Christmas at Conwenna Cove
author: Darcie Boleyn
published: Oct 2017
first line: “What on earth is that?”
genre: contemporary holiday small town romance
rated: 4 out of 5 stars for sweet holiday romance
christmas-tree (60x60)christmas-tree (60x60)christmas-tree (60x60)christmas-tree (60x60)

 

blurb:
Pack your bags for a festive trip to Conwenna Cove, just in time for Christmas…
When Grace Phillips travels to Conwenna Cove to help her parents move there, 30 years after their honeymoon in the village, she sees why they fell in love with the place. The festive decorations, carols in the air and constant supply of delicious mince pies certainly make it hard to leave. Will the rude and abrupt local vet Oli Davenport soften up and give Grace more of a reason to stay?

It’s been two years since Oli lost his wife to cancer. He loves his eleven-year-old Amy and five-year-old Tom more than anything, and his world revolves around being both mum and dad to his children. He has no interest in romance until he crosses paths with beautiful and kind-hearted Grace. The sparks fly but both Oli and Grace are holding onto the fear of letting someone into their heart.

As the snow falls and Christmas wishes come true can Conwenna Cove work its magic and help Grace and Oli find the happiness they both deserve?

my thoughts:
This is the time of year when I’m already getting into the Christmas spirit and Christmas at Conwenna Cove was the perfect read to start off the holiday season. I read this one as part of Kim’s Ho Ho Ho Read a Thon last week and I really enjoyed it.

Continue reading