200 Fun Things to Crochet

img_4986
source: free copy courtesy of St. Martin’s Press
title: 200 Fun Things to Crochet: Decorative Flowers, Leaves, Bugs, Butterflies, and More!
published: St. Martin’s Griffin (February 7, 2017)
genre: crochet/crafting
rated: 5 out of 5
1blustar1blustar1blustar1blustar1blustar

blurb:
If you ever find yourself wondering what to crochet next, then just open this book, and you’re guaranteed to find the answer. 200 Fun Things to Crochet is an irresistible collection of cute little crochet projects for all levels of ability. Containing a mix of beautiful projects inspired by nature―crochet flowers, birds, bugs, leaves, and even sea creatures―as well as a collection of charming floral squares, you’ll want to pick up your hook, sort through your yarn stash, and get started right away.

The 200 projects are quick to make, use hardly any yarn, and are perfect as stylish embellishments, to give away as a gift or to keep for yourself!
200 Fun Things to Crochet combines the work of four bestselling designers:

LESLEY STANFIELD is the author of 100 Flowers to Knit & Crochet and 75 Birds, Butterflies, & Little Beasts to Knit & Crochet.

BETTY BARNDEN is the author of 75 Floral Blocks to Crochet.

JESSICA POLKA is the author of 75 Seashells, Fish, Coral & Colorful Marine Life to Knit & Crochet.

KRISTIN NICHOLAS is the author of 50 Sunflowers to Knit, Crochet & Felt.

my thoughts:
Happy Saturday everyone, Spring is in the air here with unseasonably warm weather this past week. Today I thought I’d share my thoughts on a crochet pattern book that has recently become a favorite.
200 Fun Things to Crochet: Decorative Flowers, Leaves, Bugs, Butterflies, and More! has a nice variety of crochet patterns all inspired by nature. The patterns are divided into sections for flowers, plants, sea life, critters and blocks. The section titled “Flower Garden” has patterns for a variety of pretty flowers like Chrysanthemum, Narcissus, Marigold and Forget-Me-Not. There is also a special section of various beautiful Sunflower patterns.

The Plant Life section includes patterns for clover, mushrooms and even squash. Cute Critters has patterns for lady bugs, butterflies, a spider and a bumblebee among many others. The Under The Sea section, my favorite, has creative patterns like anemone, hammerhead shark and even angler fish. Lastly, there is a Floral Blocks section which is really nice and contains hexagons, squares, circles, diamonds and triangles to crochet.

The patterns are well written and the book itself is nicely organized containing crisp, clear photos of all the projects. I whipped up a few hexagons and I found the pattern easy to follow.

img_4971
At the end of the book there is a section of finishing techniques with helpful information on weaving in ends, blocking, and embroidering. I like that there are quick odds and ends to whip up here, many of these small projects can be used as embellishments on bags, scarves, hats, etc.

img_4991

If you are looking for a crochet pattern for something fun and unique like an ear of corn, look no further.

img_4987
Overall, 200 Fun Things to Crochet: Decorative Flowers, Leaves, Bugs, Butterflies, and More! is a terrific resource for creative and cute crochet patterns. I love having this one on my shelves and will definitely be working up more of these projects. For the knitters, there is 200 Fun Things To Knit, which looks equally adorable.

Special thanks to St. Martin’s Press for my review copy of 200 Fun Things to Crochet: Decorative Flowers, Leaves, Bugs, Butterflies, and More! .

+++++++++++++++++++++
Disclaimer: I did not receive any kind of compensation for reading and reviewing this book. I am under no obligation to write a positive review. I received my free copy of 200 Fun Things to Crochet: Decorative Flowers, Leaves, Bugs, Butterflies, and More! via St. Martin’s Press. All the photos in this post are my own and are not to be removed from here.

15 thoughts on “200 Fun Things to Crochet

  1. Hi Naida,

    We have nothing if not changeable weather, here in my little corner of the UK, although like yourself, we have noticed an overall trend towards much milder and warmer weather in general.

    Storm “Doris” did batter us for a few days last week and the remnants of the high winds and rainfall are due to make a final push through tomorrow, so it sounds like a Sunday to be spent indoors with a good book, or chatting with my good friends on-line!

    I have definitely had copies of both the knitting and crocheting books you mention, handed in as donations to the charity shop where I volunteer, although the UK version does have a slightly different cover. Whilst I don’t tend to crochet anything more adventurous than an afghan throw these days, I can well see how useful some of the small motifs might be as an embellishment to an item of furnishing or clothing.

    I shall wait with interest for you to share a few more of the projects which catch your eye as you browse the book.

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend and thanks for taking the time to stop by Fiction Books this week 🙂

    Yvonne

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Yvonne. Yes, we have only had one snow storm so far here this winter ourselves. The weather has been strange because it was unusually warm last week but now this week bitter cold is back.
      I’m waiting for Spring to arrive 🙂
      Enjoy your week too!

      Like

  2. Naida, this book looks like your perfect cup of tea, and your work is always so gorgeous. (I adore Daisy’s purple sweater which is warm and cozy and ultra cute, and I use the hot pads quite often.)

    I’m glad that your weather has been so lovely–recently it’s been warmer in some areas back east than in So Cal (I check often on my phone as I have family back east)! But, at least we are getting some rain again, which is a very welcome sight here.

    Have a wonderful week ahead!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Susan, awww I’m glad to hear that!
      Yes, we had unusually warm weather here last week but now the bitter cold is back again. I can’t wait for Spring, I like it when the weather is in the 70’s.
      Enjoy your weekend!

      Like

  3. Ooh, so pretty and cute! I wish I know crocheting and knitting. I tried learning knitting once and found them to be a bit complicated, ha. But of course that’s me. 😀

    Hope you’ve a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Naida!!!!! Can you believe I lost the link to your blog, thats why it has been a while since I have been around!! I love the crochet, see the wee animals one at the bottom? See if you made that and left a singe long line of string? You could totally sell them, I would certainly buy one, do you make them or is it just the flat pattern? i am not creative at all but would absolutely love one of these and pay for you to make it. Hope you are well lovey.

    Lainy http://www.alwaysreading.net

    Liked by 1 person

chat away

