Top Ten Tuesday April 11: Top Ten Of The Most Unique Books I’ve Read

toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday April 11: Top Ten Of The Most Unique Books I’ve Read

This weeks topic was harder than I thought it would be. As for myself, unique books are ones that are hard to forget.
Here’s my list…

book75
1. The Dirt: Confessions of the World’s Most Notorious Rock Band
Motley Crue is an American hard rock band that formed in 1982. In The Dirt each of the four band members tells his story from childhood through their time with the band. This book was like a roller coaster ride, wild. There was sex, drugs and rock ‘n roll, but you also get to see another side of the group, the guys behind all the glam and fame. Very entertaining.

flowers
2. Flowers in the Attic  by V.C. Andrews
I don’t know what it is about Flowers in the Attic. It is just one of those books that is almost awesomely bad, in the best way. The flowery writing, the taboo twist to the story-line, the drama….it’s all juicy.

warm
3. Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion
Zombies have been done over and over again, but I enjoyed author Isaac Marion’s special twist on them. I also thought the references to Romeo & Juliet were cute. R is a zombie and Julie is the girl he loves but it is forbidden for them to be together. My daughter enjoyed this one too.

book88
4. Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman
Alice Hoffman has a way with words, her writing carries me away, there is magic to it pun intended. I enjoyed this one very much when I read it, and the film version is great too. I like that the story-line revolved around two sisters who also happen to be witches.

book76.jpg
5. Love in the Time of Cholera  by Gabriel García Márquez
I have not liked one character in any of the Gabriel García Márquez books I have read, yet his rich and lyrical style of writing captivates me. He writes characters I like to dislike and I savor his writing. In Love in the Time of Cholera, after Florentino Ariza cannot marry the love of his life Fermina, he chooses instead to have 622 affairs during his lifetime. He claims his heart belongs to Fermina always.

 

book74
6. Shattered Dreams: My Life as a Polygamist’s Wife by Irene Spencer
Irene Spencer became a plural wife by age sixteen and her memoir was incredible to read. This woman had so much strength, it was inspirational. Her story was really captivating.

book2
7. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone 
This series had to make my list because there is nothing like what J.K. Rowling created with the Harry Potter books.

book77
8. Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave
Reading former slave Frederick Douglass tell his life story was a truly moving experience. It just reminds you of the strength of the human spirit. I haven’t read anything like it since.

book9
9. On the Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves
If I remember correctly, On the Island was originally self published by Tracey Garvis-Graves. I found out about this one via book blogging many years ago and I went into it with some trepidations. It became an instant favorite. This is a great beach read that I may have to read again some day, the love story is a unique one.

book4
10. The Siren by Tiffany Reisz
I feel like The Siren tends to make my favorite lists one way or the other. Tiffany Reisz creates such a memorable and unique story-line and characters that this series is a favorite. I read The Siren wide-eyed and in two sittings. Book two in this series was equally as great.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

That wraps up my list of unique books, what makes your list? Enjoy your week!

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday April 11: Top Ten Of The Most Unique Books I’ve Read

  1. Naida, what a great list of unique/memorable books you’ve read! I enjoyed reading your commentary about them. I haven’t read any of them yet. Happy reading this week, Naida! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great concept. I am not searching through my own memories to come up with my own list.

    It has been a long time since I read Flowers in The Attic. I love your description of it.

    Love in the Time of Cholera was indeed fantastic, and very odd.

    I tend to really like Rock biographies, both the crazy ones and the not so crazy ones. I have heard great things about Dirt. I really need to get to it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Brian. The rock biographies can be interesting, I recommend the Dirt. I have Slash’s autobiography on my shelves waiting to be read. Happy weekend!

      Like

  3. Oh great list of books. I’ve read a few but there are others that have been on my TBR for a while. I’m especially curious about Warm Bodies and I don’t even like zombies that much! haha…

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.