Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 1/1/23: Happy New Year! 2022 Wrap-Up Post


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists…




Happy, Healthy New Year! I wish you all good things this year and hope you find wonderful books to enjoy. Um how is it 2023 already? It just sounds so futuristic “2023”.

The weather has been so mild here these last few days and even hit 60 on Friday. I’ve taken advantage of the temps and walked Otis even on my lunch-breaks since I’m working from home. For New Year’s Eve last night we stood home and enjoyed a charcuterie board with some wine. I didn’t even wait till midnight and was asleep by 11pm and put my phone on silent lol. I woke up this morning to the HNY’s midnight texts from friends and family. 🙂 And I’m off tomorrow so the day will hopefully be spent reading in my pajamas and maybe watching a movie.


Onto my bookish updates and my end of year wrap up…


recently on the blog:

I swore I’d get my review of The Soulmate by Sally Hepworth this past week but that did not happen, so I posted my review this morning. This was the last book I read in 2022 and it was a great one.

in my mailbox

My daughter cracks me up, she got me a copy of One Wore Blue by Heather Graham for Christmas because she knows I love Civil War history and romance, so it makes sense….lol. I can’t wait to read this actually, it’s part of a series. She also got me a beautiful GWTW handstitched bookmark from Etsy.

This past week we went antiquing and thrifting 2x and I almost toppled this book pile over while I tried to look through it.



I grabbed a copy of Governess Gone Rogue by Laura Lee Guhrke out of the pile and On Writing by Stephen King. I already have the King book but my copy is pretty beat up so when I saw this for just a few dollars I grabbed it since I’ve been wanting to re-read it.

Also pictured here is a crochet pattern book that I purchased a few months ago actually but never featured here. I was looking through it again the other day…Harry Potter: Crochet Wizardry Crochet Patterns Harry Potter Crafts. I really want to crochet Dobby, how cool is this? I just need to set time aside for a project like this one since it takes so much time and effort. When I crochet something like this, I tend to get very focused on it until I’m done and I’ll crochet all day and even stay up late nights working on it so this needs to be started on a weekend or Friday night.







2022 Reading Wrapup:

I really didn’t read as much as I planned for this past year, but I had a few favorites anyway. Years ago I would read so much I could section off my yearly wrap-up post into genres. Maybe this year I can dedicate more time to reading. I want to read 50 books this year, which I know is totally doable.

Without further ado, here are my favorite books of 2022:


“Such a thin veil separated the past from the present; they existed simultaneously in the human heart”. – The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah– I love this author and have The Nightingale on my TBR.


“It was as if all figures walked and talked on the desolate home of my damned soul.” –Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice was a re-read and still amazing the second time around.


“In going away now I feel as if I had someone else than myself to live and strive and do well for. You can have but little idea of the infulance you have over me Julia, even while so far away.” – My Dearest Julia. Fantastic. I want to read Grant’s memoir this year.


“Jake tried his best to reconnect, but I overpowered it. At the same time, I felt so incredibly alone. I never realized that part of my self-confidence came from the connection. We had always been a team, and even though we fought, he was still part of me, far more than I realized.”- Our Trespasses by Michael Cordell was a nice paranormal horror thriller that took me by surprise.

These are my 2022 blogging stats:
37 posts
30.8K words
260 likes
574 comments
Busiest day is Sunday at 5pm which makes sense because that’s when my updates posts are up.

Favorite crochet moments of 2022:






TV series I obsessed over in 2022:

1899
Wendesday but only after episode 3 when it got really good.
Handmaid’s Tale Season 5
Briderton Season 2
Dahmer
Stranger Things Season 4…I tell you I. Am. Obsessed. With this series, so good.


That wraps up my updates for now, Happy New Year! Also, thank you all for welcoming me back to blog-land last week, you guys are the best! What was your favorite book of 2022? I’ll close with a few pictures of our antiquing trips this past week.













Disclaimer: Nothing in this post is available for download. The photos here are my own and not be to be removed from this post.

24 thoughts on “Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 1/1/23: Happy New Year! 2022 Wrap-Up Post

  1. They do say that the older you get, the more quickly the years seem to pass – Ain’t that the truth!! 🙂

    I did say that I wouldn’t be taking part in any reading challenges this year. However, I did sign up to the Goodreads Reading Challenge, but with a very small total of 20 books. I do hope to exceed that number quite substantially, but I really want to use the location to keep a library index of the books I have read during the year. My blog does have an author / title index, but that doesn’t break down by year.

    I do love rummaging around antique / book fairs, but sometimes they do look like an accident just waiting to happen, the way everything is stacked up! You snaffled some great finds

    Here’s to a great reading and crafting 20023! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s true, time goes by faster the older we are. Good luck with it, I always do the Goodreads Reading Challenge too. I didn’t read as much as I hoped since the pandemic hit but I’m hoping to read more in 2023. Goodreads is great to keep track of books read.

      Yes, sometimes there’s just so much clutter at antique shops but it’s fun trying to find something good. Happy New year Yvonne! Happy crafting and puzzling! Thanks for stopping in. 🙂

      Like

  2. 2023 does sound futuristic, doesn’t it? To think my daughter wasn’t even alive in the 1900’s. It makes me feel so old. LOL I am glad you are able to take advantage of the mild weather. It seems like so many places are just too cold. It’s been raining here, but there have been some dry moments in between. Fortunately, where I live, the rain and wind hasn’t been horrible, but my relatives in the northern part of the state are worrying about flooding and power outages.

    It’s been ages since I read Interview with a Vampire. My husband and I watched the first episode of the new mini series and liked it. We just haven’t gotten back to it yet.

    I hope you have a wonderful 2023–in life and in reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • 2023 totally sounds futuristic lol. I know right? My daughter wasn’t born in the 1900’s either. To think that the year 1990 is over 3 decades ago is mind blowing.

      I hope the rain lets up and your relative don’t get flooding and outages! We had a power outage an entire Saturday a few weeks ago and it definitely reminded me again to not take electricity for granted.
      I’m not sure about the Interview with a Vampire series myself, I love the film and novel but maybe I will give the show a try also eventually.
      Happy, healthy 2023 Wendy!

      Like

  3. I enjoyed your wrap up. I would like the Dobby crochet! Your antique hunting looked like fun… and always nice to get some book finds.
    Happy New Year and Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks like another excellent year! Loved all the crochet projects, though I was partial to Pennywise! I’d love to see what you do with that Dobby pattern…he’s one of my favorite characters. I barely made my goal of 100 books in 2022, but I read fewer books with my daughter last year as she has extra tutoring and reading help finally!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Pennywise was so fun to make! Hopefully I can make a Dobby this year. 100 books is amazing! Glad she got the extra tutoring, happy reading to both of you this year!

      Like

  5. Happy 2023! I love reading your recap. Isn’t thrifting fun? I haven’t done that in a while so need to make some time for that this year. Wishing you a wonderful year ahead filled with lots of great reads!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.