Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 10/8/23: Updates

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists…



Hello and happy weekend. We had some warmer temps this past week and rain since Friday. I love rainy days though especially when I’m home. This past week dragged for me. I’ve been having some health issues which have progressively gotten worse since early September so I didn’t read a single thing again this week with not feeling well. I had bloodwork done this week and an ultrasound and it turns out I’m anemic. I’m seeing my doctor on Monday so I’ll see what he says to do next. They temporarily put me on hormones for now and while that helped with one issue, the migraines from the meds are intense and have been waking me up in the middle of the night out of a dead sleep. I’m hoping for a better week ahead. Plus it’s a 3-day weekend so that’s always nice. I haven’t been able to walk Otis much at all this week but we will get out there again soon I promised him.

onto my updates…


in my mailbox:

Prime reads is offering a creature feature short story selection so I downloaded The Pram by Joe Hill. This looks like a fun one.


watching:

Jaws 2 Netflix has all the Jaws movies so I wound up re-watching this one. It was ok, not as good as the first Jaws.
Jaws 3-D I haven’t watched this since I was little and I had zero recollection of it and it was awesomely bad lol. I can’t believe the Sea World setting. I wound up watching the making of Jaws 3-D and it reminded me how unhinged the 1980’s were. They actually had the one actress riding on an orca in the movie, this woman was not a certified orca trainer so there’s that. And then they had another actress preforming water ski tricks as part of the Sea World performance. So it seems they basically took some of the actors and incorporated them into the Sea World cast for the film.

Also of note, a few months ago I found Peter Santenello on YouTube. I love documentaries so I’ve been watching all his videos, this is some great stuff. I recommend his channel.


That covers my updates for now. I’ll share some crochet next updates post. I’ve been working on a large clown for over a month so that’s all I’ve been crocheting lately. He will be ready soon then I can share the completed pics.
What are you up to lately? Reading? Watching? thanks for stopping by and happy week ahead.



disclaimer: Nothing in this post is available for download. The photos here are my own and not be to be removed from this post.

14 thoughts on “Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 10/8/23: Updates

  1. I hope you will feel better soon. My daughter has had a migraine since Sept 20th so we were at the doctor multiple times this week and may be back there next week. The weather is great here

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Anne, I hope your daughter feels better soon too. Migraines are debilitating. It cooled off here alot this weekend so I pulled out my fuzzy robe and a few sweaters already.
      Enjoy your week!

      Like

  2. I’m sorry you haven’t been feeling well. I know that feeling of being sick and not being able to concentrate on reading. It’s hard. Take care and I hope all goes well at the doctor. Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sorry to hear about your health issues, that sounds stressful! And those migraines form the meds don’t sound well. I hope they can find something that works well and doesn’t give you such side effects. I hope your next week is a better one!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Some times when I watch 80’s movies I’m like how did they do that, or more accurately how did they get AWAY with doing that lol. A Jaws rewatch sounds fun. Maybe just the first one. 🙂

    Sorry to hear about the helath issues, I hope they are able to do something about the headaches and the anemia soon. It’s been raining here too, and it’s cold! 49 right now. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Its feeling properly autumnal here in the UK now … not that I’m complaining.
    Sorry to hear you’ve been unwell, as someone also recently diagnosed as anemic I now how unwell it can make you. Here’s hoping for a better week ahead

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love rainy days when I am home too. 🙂 I am sorry to hear you haven’t been well. I hope the treatment will help and you and the doctors will find one that doesn’t have such severe side effects.

    I have never seen the Jaws movies. Just bits and pieces. We started One Piece on Netflix and have really liked what we’ve seen so far. My husband and daughter have both seen the anime version and can’t help but compare the two. Now I appreciate what it must be like for them when I do that with a movie based on a book I’ve read. LOL (Although I usually wait until it’s over first, not that it makes it better.)

    I hope you enjoy your week, Naida, and feel better.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So sorry to hear about your health issues and especially the migraine.. as some who gets frequent headaches they can be quite debilitating. Wishing you a speedy recovery.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.