Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 10/23/22: Reading, Crochet etc.

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists…

Happy weekend all. I hope this post finds you well. I can’t believe October is almost over and Halloween is right around the corner. I still haven’t decided if I’m dressing up this year but I’m headed to the Halloween store this weekend to take see if any costume catches my eye. This past week flew right by. I read one book for Fraterfest and I finished up my Fall shawl. My jaw seems to be healing well, thank you all for the kind comments on that last week. I’m going on Monday to get the stiches removed.

onto my bookish updates…


recently on the blog:


My thoughts on Shifting and Shenanigans by Elizabeth Pantley are up. This was a fun read.

coming soon:


I read If It Bleeds by Stephen King for FraterFest so my thoughts will be up this week. I’ll be watching Mr. Harrigan’s Phone on Netflix this weekend to go along with one of the short stories in this book.


I’ve got an author guest post coming up this Wednesday for Nunzio’s Way by Nick Chiarka.

in my mailbox:



The Cowboy Who Saved Christmas by Jodi Thomas, Sharla Lovelace, and Scarlett Dunn via Amazon Prime.

watching:


So we watched the new Elvis movie. Tsk tsk tsk. Sigh. Austin Butler who plays Elvis did a phenomenal job and he was the only good thing about this film. I like Elvis and even though he’s before my time I enjoy his music, it’s definitely timeless. So I don’t know what the heck was going on with this movie. They ruined it with having Tom Hanks with that strange face makeup pretty much narrating the whole thing. The movie was really mostly about how awful Elvis’ manager was, so they should have titled it differently, so you know you’re going to watch an almost 3-hour long film about Elvis’ manager.

Then they glossed over the fact that Priscilla was just 14 years old when she met Elvis. They also kind of glossed over his pill addiction. And at one point there was modern day music in the background. Um, it’s an Elvis Presley movie people, use Elvis music not Doja Cat. Thanks. And why was there an Eminem song playing during the ending credits? I’ll stop ranting now and include a cute Elvis song here with my post. 🙂 Have you watched this one? What did you think?





crochet:

I finished up a Fall shawl. I used a granny stitch on this one and changed colors each row. I love it.






That’s all for now. I’ll close with a few pics of Otis modeling his new pumpkin sweater I ordered from Amazon. He’s such a ham always. Enjoy your week! What are you up to?




Disclaimer: Nothing in this post is available for download. The photos here are my own and not be to be removed from this post.

30 thoughts on “Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 10/23/22: Reading, Crochet etc.

  1. Your shawl is gorgeous and fits the season so well! 🍂 Sorry to hear you didn’t like the new Elvis movie. It’s difficult for me to watch a 3 hour movie no matter what it’s about haha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Elizabeth Pantley and can easily recommend any book written by her. Have you read The Destiny Falls series? That is my favorite for sure!

    We haven’t seen Elvis yet, but will get to it sometime soon.

    Have a good week and thanks for stopping by earlier!

    Elza Reads

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love your Fall shawl, love your Spooky mug, love Otis in his sweater…

    Oh and I loved the Elvis movie for all the reasons you did NOT like it. Especially the music. Ha ha.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cute pics! And good luc with the healing.

    I haven’t seen the Elvis movie yet although I’ve heard mostly good things, but yeah some of those details of his life a re bit sketchy lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My husband loves all Elvis stuff and seemed to enjoy this movie. I was put off by the modern music and the weird vibes and the fact that it really was told from his manager’s pov…and the addiction was glossed over, as was Priscilla’s age. This was a blah movie and way too long for me.

    I still have that Stephen King book on the shelf. This seems like the perfect time read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I enjoyed The Cowboy Who Saved Christmas which I read last year.
    Your rant on the Elvis movie seems to be well founded. I’m not likely to see it.
    I love the shawl and Otis is such a great model!
    Have a good week and Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.