Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 4/23/23: Updates and NYC

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists…


Happy rainy Sunday. I hope this post finds you well. Another week flew right on by, April is moving along so fast. I skipped last week’s updates post I just could not make the time for blogland. It’s been a busy past few weeks. And I have an oral surgeon appointment this upcoming Wednesday to finally get my tooth implant put in after having a broken molar pulled last summer. Wish me luck!
The weather continues to fluctuate, we hit 90 degrees at one point last week then went down to the 50’s this past week again and it’s been raining since yesterday evening. I have the windows cracked open this morning for nice natural rain ambience.


onto my weekly updates….



recently on the blog:

I shared my thoughts on Mermaid Beach by Sheila Roberts which was so good and I recommend.


I shared my thoughts on portraits of red and gray: memoir poems by James C. Morehead. This is a nice poetry memoir.


I shared a book/author spotlight for The Threshold Series Book 1 by Janet & Chris Morris which sounds like a nice sci-fi thriller and you can enter to win a $10.00 Amazon gift card.

in my mailbox:

Summer at the Cornish Beach Cafe by Donna Ashcroft via the publisher.



watching
I watched Boston Strangler which was slow going but still good. However, I don’t like Keira Knightley without her British accent. My husband and I watched Murder Mystery 2 which was fun. We watched Murder Mystery a few years ago and that was hilarious so we had to see the second film that recently came out and it didn’t disappoint. Adam Sandler is a favorite.

I also watched a documentary on PBS called Country Music and it was fantastic as per usual for Ken Burns. I don’t like contemporary country music (except Dolly Parton she’s fantastic) but I like old time country, if they’re playing the fiddle and or yodeling, bring it on. Hank Williams is a favorite, and in this documentary it was really interesting seeing where the roots of country music came from and the history surrounding it.


crochet:
I finished my swim-suit cover-up. I love it. This was my first time crocheting a dress. This yarn is so nice, it’s Big Twist Panoramic and I have a few more skeins in light pink which I want to make a light shrug with.


And I’m still working on my mood blanket.





I also visited NYC last weekend. We went to see Grant’s Tomb. I drove in with my parents and the weather was fantastic for a city trip. This is where Civil War General and U.S. President Ulysses Grant and his wife Julia are entombed. He wanted to be laid to rest with this wife and back when he passed away women were not allowed to be buried in the military cemetery so they chose this location. This is the largest mausoleum in North America. You can see a clip of it here if you’re interested. .

I’ll close with a few pics. Enjoy your week, what are you up to?









Disclaimer: Nothing in this post is available for download. The photos here are my own and not be to be removed from this post.

24 thoughts on “Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 4/23/23: Updates and NYC

  1. I’m not surprised you have had no time for Blogland with all your other activities, which look like so much more fun!

    I think we have decided that overseas travel is no longer something we yearn for, so your posts about things and places of interest are so much more interesting and enjoyable to read.

    The crochet work is all looking fantastic and if that is really your first time attempting a dress pattern, it looks amazing.

    The Sheila Roberts book is already on my wish list, thanks to your review and I like the sound of the Donna Ashcroft novel, some nice easy reading between the thrillers I so enjoy!

    Not much to tell here:

    The weather has been very mixed and not particularly warm either.

    I continue to crochet my Afghan blankets and neo natal blankets, for charity.

    I have acquired some new jigsaws passed on by my MIL who turned 92 Saturday, so I shall have to get started on those as they take up so much space stacked in my office.

    Oh! and I spent Monday sat in A&E with a bad eye and have been diagnosed with Posterior Vitreous Detachment, which is most annoying as I have some giant floaters which are making focussing quite a challenge!

    Have a good week and Happy Reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Yvonne, I had fun crocheting the dress. It’s my first time making a dress and the tutorial I followed on YouTube was in Portuguese so I had no idea what she was saying since I don’t speak Portuguese but I followed along just by watching the stitches she was making lol.
      Oh my gosh about your eye, floaters are not fun. Can that get better? Is it temporary?

      I’m glad you enjoy my posts! Happy weekend. 🙂 And Happy Birthday to your MIL, enjoy the puzzles and crafting. I’m sure your blankets are lovely.

      Like

      • I am hoping the floaters and flashes are going to be temporary, but there is no guarantee and might just be something I have to learn to live with! This might go on for weeks or months before I know definitely, but meantime the consultant just recommends taking things easy to avoid a retinal tear or detachment, which would mean laser surgery. Definitely no sharp bangs to the head or face and no bungy jumping!!!!! – AS IF 🙂 🙂

        Good Luck with the oral surgery and take it easy afterwards! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I hope the floaters go away then, fingers crossed. Cancel the bungee jumping! Lol
        Thank you, the oral surgery is fine and went ok. 🙂 And it’s almost Friday so yay for that. Enjoy the rest of your week.

        Like

  2. Good luck with the appointment! I had to see an oral surgeon recently and it went well, thankfully- hopefully yours does too.

    Murder Mytsery was fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I visited Grant’s home in Galena, Illinois last fall. It was worth the stop.
    Wishing you a great (and easy) dental experience.
    The cover-up is gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This summer book cover (Mailbox) looks so enticing. We have cruel cold weather here after a full week in the 80s – which obviously was wayyyyy too early for Chicagoland. Enjoy your books

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.