Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 6/11/23: Updates and thrifting

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists…


Happy weekend, I hope this post finds you well. What an interesting past week. We got affected pretty seriously here with the smoke from the Canada fires. The air quality turned hazardous on Wednesday and the app said it was 307 which is insane. The smell and haze were so bad I was wearing my N95 mask. Thankfully it’s all cleared up now and we’re back to normal. And on top of all that, I was bit by a tick on the back of my neck on Tuesday. I went to the urgent care and the doctor prescribed antibiotics as a preventative. It was a one-time dose. I have to go back in 4 weeks to get tested for Lyme Disease. Please send me some good juju that I do not have Lyme.


Otis yesterday morning guarding his land.

onto my weekly updates….

recently:

I shared my thoughts on Flare, Corona by Jeannine Hall Gailey which was an awesome collection of poetry and I recommend it.

in my mailbox:
No review books this week but son and I went to a fav used books and record shop last weekend. This is what I got:

I grabbed a cool vintage Rod Serling Twilight Zone book for my daughter, she collects vintage knick knacks. It’s published in 1960 and the cover says it was 35 cents. The other two books are for my collection.



watching:
I finally watched Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. I have the book but haven’t read it yet. I thought this movie was ridiculous and fun and I enjoyed it, the casting was good. Have you seen this one? My husband and I have also been catching up on the latest season of 1000 Pound Sisters. My daughter hooked us on this during the pandemic and we’ve been invested ever since lol.



crochet:
I finished up a shrug I started back in April for the spring/summer months. I love it. I used my favorite yarn right now which is Panoramic by Big Twist. The drape and stretch are fantastic, it’s nice and light too. I noticed the JoAnn’s by me only had a few balls of this left at the store and they were in with the sale yarn, so I ordered more of it online to keep in my stash in case they discontinue it. My fav yarns tend to get discontinued.



The design here is very simple, you crochet a square then fold it up to become a shrug. I added ribbing along the border and the sleeves. I used this pattern for inspiration and sizing info. I made mine with basically a large granny square so it’s nice and airy.



Lastly, the weather this weekend has been beautiful and sunny, back to normal. Yesterday I spent the day with my son browsing our townwide annual garage sale. It’s our tradition he and I have, we walk and drive browsing the garage sales all around town then we grab late lunch after. Next year we’re considering setting up our own table maybe. While we were browsing I was looking at these pretty ceramic Halloween tea light holders at one table, and I was just about to ask the woman who was selling these how much when she told me to take them for free if I like them. How nice of her, they are so cute. I love Halloween/Fall decor like this.


That wraps up my updates for now, what have you been up to? What are you reading?



Disclaimer: Nothing in this post is available for download. The photos here are my own and not be to be removed from this post.

28 thoughts on “Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 6/11/23: Updates and thrifting

  1. Hey there! Happy weekend to you too. Wow, what a rollercoaster of a week you had! I’m relieved to hear that the smoke cleared up and you’re back to normal. Sending all the good vibes and juju your way, hoping that the test comes back negative. Stay strong, and take care of yourself!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That sucks about the tick. Hope all is well and no Lyme. Why is the outdoors such a pain lately lol? I used to walk in the woods as a kid and now they say you can’t do this, wear long pants (in the summer??) etc because of ticks and all that. Geez…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks and right? I feel like mosquitos, ticks and poison ivy also were not all over the place when I was little. Now you have to be covered up and use spray and be xtra careful or good luck with that lol.

      Like

  3. How fun. My daughter and I would enjoy the garage sale browsing too. We already have enough stuff though. We like thrift stories too. The shrug looks beautiful. JoAnn discontinues the ones I like too, which are the natural fiber ones.

    Anne – Books of My Heart This is my Sunday Post

    Liked by 1 person

    • The garage sales are a nice way to pass a few hours. I love thrifting also. I mainly just look until something really catches my eye since I have so much stuff at home already too. The shrug was fun to make and I can’t wait to wear it. A few of my fav yarns got discontinued and by the time I realized it, it was too late to stock up so I want to stock up on this one now.
      Enjoy your weekend!

      Like

  4. I’m sorry about the tick bite. They’re already so bad this season. I wish I could take Ginger’s flea & tick prevention pill too!! I’ll be sending good vibes for you test. I love your crochet shrug and the Halloween finds!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Glad the smoke cleared u for you. So sorry about the tick.
    That shrug is great (and tempting if I ever wanted to learn to crochet, lol).
    That Twilight Zone looks like a great collectors book.
    Cute Otis as usual and nice to get those Halloween items.
    Have a good week and Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Otis escaped once from under that fence when he was a puppy lol. He was chasing a rabbit and we ran up the street to catch him before he got too far. We had to place a few bricks lined up underneath to keep him in until he got too big to run underneath anymore. Happy weekend!

      Like

  6. Your air quality was far worse than our 192 here and that was bad enough. My daughter wore her N95 to school and on the bus. She was having headaches and other reactions when she didn’t wear it. I am glad that air quality stuff is over, but I hope the wildfires in Canada are under control. We’ve had too little rain of late.

    Your yarn problem sounds like the TV problem I have. I get hooked on a show and then it’s canceled.

    I am so glad you loved Jeannine Hall Gailey’s book. It has to be one of her best.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Poor thing, I felt bad for the kids for having to go out in it for school. Here they still had to go, but no recess outside no outdoor activities etc. That air quality was scary and also eye opening. Hopefully it doesn’t happen again. My anxiety was through the roof.

      lol about the yarn and tv shows, they cancel the good ones!
      I loved Flare, Corona. It was so good.
      Happy weekend!

      Like

Comments are closed.