Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 8/20/23: Updates

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists…



Happy weekend, I hope this post finds you well and enjoying the rest of the summer and reading good books. I skipped out on my updates post the past two weeks because I promised myself not to post updates until I finally finished at least one book and posted a review first which I managed to do last week.

I dyed my hair at the salon yesterday after I quit coloring it cold turkey 9 months ago. As I sit here typing this, I can smell the hair dye on my head still. Now that it’s all back as close to my natural dark brown color I can just let it grow out moving forward, grays and all. I’m so over dyeing it.

And I took Otis to the vet for a checkup last weekend and he needs to lose about 1 pound. The vet wants him to get down to 5 pounds again, he’s a little over 6 pounds now.


onto my updates….


recently on the blog:

I shared my thoughts on Hope for the Worst by Kate Brandt. The author is stopping by this Tuesday for a guest post so please come back for that. She is so nice too!

in my mailbox:

Not Your Crush’s Cauldron by April Asher via NetGalley/the publisher.


Darling Girls by Sally Hepworth via NetGalley/the publisher. I read The Soulmate by this author this year and enjoyed it so I’m looking forward to this one.


watching: Have you watched any of these?

-I’m still re-watching Breaking Bad and it’s fantastic yet you definitely need to suspend disbelief, but whatever.
Stowaway– This caught my eye because it’s set in outer space and Toni Collette is in it, but it was not good unfortunately. It could have been way better but there were a few plot holes and I’m not a big fan of Anna Kendricks.
Bones and All– I watched this one because Timothée Chalamet is always fantastic. This one was good although it dragged on for a little too long and it gave me a stomachache so there’s that.
Fatale-Ummmmm this one was decent. I was surprised to see Hillary Swank cast as the lead psychopath here but she pulls it off. This has a “fatal attraction” vibe going on.



crochet

I’ve been working on a few projects but today I wanted to showcase this Viking hat.

What do you think? And, I did not crochet this fabulous hat. Guess who crocheted this?…


My daughter crocheted this hat for herself. She’s been on a Norway/Viking kick for about a year or so watching documentaries and learning about the culture and history.
I taught her to crochet a few years ago but she hasn’t really crocheted too much except a few scarves until a few weeks ago she told me she wanted to make a hat. And this was it. I’m so proud of her and I love that she was talking crochet lingo with me as she was working on this. She’d ask me questions when she had any, but she did this all on her own, she followed a YouTube tutorial for the pattern. It was her first time working in the round.

That covers my updates this week. What have you been up to? Enjoy your week ahead. 🙂



Disclaimer: Nothing in this post is available for download. The photos here are my own and not be to be removed from this post.

16 thoughts on “Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 8/20/23: Updates

  1. Darling Girls is on my tbr list too. Soulmate was a good one.

    I used to put a dark rinse in my hair but the salons here stopped offering it. So Im salt and pepper now.

    Have a good week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Darling Girls looks good. Is that a thriller? I’ll have to check it out. Stowaway sounds like a fun premise, bummer it wasn’t too good.

    That Viking hat crochet is awesome 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You tell us you dyed your hair but didn’t share a picture?! Sadness. Otis is so tiny it’s hard to believe he needs to lose weight!! I love the viking hat, your daughter did a great job. I have heard great things about Sally Hepworth’s books, I hope you enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your daughter did a great job on that viking hat!!!

    Otis!!! I can see how a mere 1lb on a a tiny dog like that could make a difference.

    Like

Comments are closed.