Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 1/15/23: Book Updates and a Cardigan

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came in their mailbox during the last week. Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists…


Happy 3-day weekend. I hope this post finds you well. Can January please be over with already, thank you. How is it only mid-January so far? I’m ready for some sunshine and warm temps so January through March are my least favorite months.


The week started off with Otis going to the vet on Monday for his checkup and vaccines. He knows what the vet is as soon as we pull into the parking lot, so he was definitely mad at me when we pulled up at the vet’s office. His visit went well.

And my daughter started her first semester of college this week. Yay. She’s going full time and is most excited about her Appreciation of Music class this semester. She’s a talented guitar player, and so is my son, so she naturally gravitates towards anything music related, learning about different music styles, instruments, etc. I’m excited for her and proud of her.

Onto my bookish updates…



recently on the blog:

It’s been a busy blog week which was nice.

On Tuesday I posted for Top Ten Tuesday. The topic was Most Anticipated Books Releasing in the First Half of 2023. I added several new books to my ever-growing TBR mountain after reading other bloggers posts. 🙂


I shared my thoughts on Reminders of Him on Wednesday.


I shared my thoughts on To Catch a Setting Sun by Richard I. Levine on Thursday.

coming soon:


I’m currently reading When the Day Comes by Gabrielle Meyer which is a nice historical fiction about a girl who lives in dual timelines and has to choose a time to stay in permanently on her 21st birthday. This is a Bethany House review book I meant to get to last year.

in my mailbox:


I downloaded In the Heart of the Fire by Dean Koontz on audio from AmazonPrime reads. This is book one in his Nameless series and is about 60 pages long so the audio book is a little over an hour long. All the books in this series are short stories so I’m hoping each of these will be nice for dipping into without too much commitment.

crochet:

I finally finished a cardigan I started in October. I like the way it turned out, it’s very cozy. I don’t follow a set pattern and I size it as I go along to make sure it fits.




watching:

I’ve been keeping up with the Idaho murders case and the hearing was delayed until late June.

I watched these movies this week:
White Noise– This was quirky and funny and Adam Driver was great a per his usual.
Gone in the Night– This was a good one but Winona Ryder’s character was realllly gullible so that was kind of annoying.
-I watched Death and the Civil War on PBS which is not a movie but a documentary and it was really interesting. PBS has such great documentaries.

That wraps up my updates for today, hope you have a nice weekend and happy reading! I’ll close with an Elvis and Lisa Marie Presley clip. How sad about her passing.




Disclaimer: Nothing in this post is available for download. The photos here are my own and not be to be removed from this post.

33 thoughts on “Sunday Post/Mailbox Monday 1/15/23: Book Updates and a Cardigan

  1. Otis is so cute! I’m glad his vet visit went well. It’s so very sad about Lisa Presley. Thanks for sharing the clip. And the cardigan is gorgeous!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am sorry your month is dragging, Naida. Yay for the three day weekend though! I am looking forward to the extra day off. My mom is hoping we can go to a museum on Monday, but my daughter isn’t too happy with the idea. We’ll see . . . It’s been raining a lot and so I am kind of with my daughter in wanting to stay home. I am glad the vet visit went well for Otis. We really need to schedule appointments for our cats. They are long overdue.

    When the Day Comes sounds really interesting! I hope you are enjoying it. A bit different from the usual dual time line books, from the sounds of it, with a little fantasy element thrown in. I hope you have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, yay for the 3-day weekend! Have fun at the museum if you go! When the Day Comes is great so far, I like the fantasy part of it and its also historical fiction.
      Enjoy your week and happy reading. 🙂

      Like

  3. Beautiful sweater! You can visit West Texas for a bit! Our weather has been very mild so far. It’s been in the upper 60’s / low 70’s for the past few days. I’m so thankful for the extra day this weekend. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, that is so impressive that you can knit that with no pattern! It is so cute! Love it and the color! We are getting the cold here, but I’m okay with it for now. I just wish we’d get some snow too. Dean Koontz used to be an auto-buy and immediately read author for me, but I haven’t read his in a while now. Hope you enjoy your new books and have a great week!
    https://lisalovesliterature.bookblog.io/2023/01/15/weekly-wrap-up-102-january-15th-2023/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m with you on the winter weather. The only upside is that we have NO snow when usually I’m shoveling a few times a week. The sweater is lovely. You do such beautiful work. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Otis is so pretty. My pup doesn’t mind once she gets to the vets. She is too young to realize what they are going to do. She gets so excited to see them that it’s almost worth it.
    Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Beautiful cardigan and glad to hear Otis’ vet visit went well! I typically don’t like January too much but this year we are experiencing a very mild winter. It’s practically been spring and we even got to 82 last week! Crazy. Hope you get some nicer weather soon and enjoy your upcoming reads. And, yes, hurray for 3 day weekends! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love to see cute Otis. The cardigan is beautiful and I like the color.
    I am glad we only get a few days below freezing and maybe a few above 100. Most of the time our temps are reasonable…and livable.
    I hadn’t heard about the short books from Koontz. I hope you like it.
    Have a good week and Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.